Rush-Bagot Agreement Quizlet

In 1946, following discussions in the Permanent Joint Defence Council, Canada also proposed to interpret the agreement in such a way as to allow the use of ships for training purposes when each country informs the other country. [9] Bagot met with Secretary of State James Monroe, and then his successor Benjamin Rush (signatory of the Declaration of Independence). Together, they developed an agreement that limited each nation to one or two ships per sea, only for military navigation (i.e., mapping and surveying, not for defense). While it has not done enough over the years to resolve the ongoing border disputes with British Canada, it has laid the groundwork for the world`s longest Pacific border. Bagot met informally with Secretary of State James Monroe and eventually reached an agreement with his successor, current Minister Richard Rush. The agreement limited military navigation on the Great Lakes to one or two ships per country on each sea. ==The Senate ratified the agreement on April 28, 1818. The British Government considered that an exchange of diplomatic letters between Rush and Bagot was sufficient to make the agreement effective. In 2004, the U.S. Coast Guard decided to arm 7.62 mm out of 11 of their small trawlers stationed on Lakes Erie and Hurone. The U.S. decision was based on an increase in the number of smuggling operations and the increased threat posed by terrorist activities following the attacks of September 11, 2001.

The Canadian government has decided that armament is not contrary to the treaty, as the weapons should be used for prosecution rather than military activities. On October 20, 18, 1818, the United States and Great Britain signed a convention fixing part of the current border between the United States and Canada. The agreement provided that 49 degrees wide north (or the 49th parallel) would mark the boundary of Lake des Woods (in present-day northern Minnesota, southwestern Ontario and southeastern Manitoba) west to the Rockies (in present-day Montana and Alberta). The two countries also agreed that they would jointly occupy the Pacific Northwest Territories for 10 years, the area that begins at 42 degrees north (the southern border of present-day Oregon) and extends north to 54 degrees 40 minutes north latitude (in present-day British Columbia). But even before the agreement was reached and even before the United States and Britain had fought the War of 1812 (1812-1814), American expansionists had begun to claim the conquest of Canada from Britain. After the Eastern Boundary was fixed by the Convention of 1818, the expansionists began to propose that the Pacific Northwest Territories be part of a strategic claim of the United States.